Seiganji Temple

Seiganji Temple

Seiganji Temple Jyokozan Seigan Temple was built in 1684 and is the bodaiji (family temple) of the Nabeshima domain from Ogi. The symbol of this temple is the romon (two-storied gate), a Chinese-style gate which evokes the feeling of Ryugu-jo. It was built in 1852. It is believed that at the time the Saga Domain was responsible for Nagasaki port security and, as such, was influenced by Chinese culture. There is a spirit tablet for the generations of Ogi Domain rulers in the main hall, as well as a tombstone in the cemetery at the back. The stone Buddhas called 500 Rakan at the back of the temple are a must-see. Here, 200 or so stone Buddhas greet visitors, each with their own unique expression. Although they are without words, with their sad, happy, scolding, angry and various other expressions, it is as though they are trying to tell us something. The Rakan statues are estimated to have been made in the middle of the Edo Period by masons of the Tokubei Hirakawa family. Every year in spring and autumn banquets are held featuring Fucha Ryori (the Shojin Ryori cuisine of the Obakushu Zen sect.)


● Access:
From train station: 30-minute walk or 10-minute taxi ride from Ogi Station on the JR Karatsu Line
Car: 15-minute drive from Nagasaki Expressway Taku IC
Bus: Get on Showa Bus bound for Taku/Karatsu at Saga Station Bus Center, and walk for 20 minutes from Ogi Bus Center

● Free entry

● Parking Lot: Accommodates 20 cars (free of charge)

● Contact: Division of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Ogi City Government, Tel: +81-952-73-8813


  • Hi-res4K SAGA
  • Doganshitato? SAGA TRAVEL SUPPORT
  • Kyushu Expressway Pass
  • KYUSHU-SAGA International AIRPORT
  • Saga Trip Genius YouTube Channel
  • Saga Tourism Brochure